Teachers are salespeople (presentation slide repackaging resources)

“Because you’re such a good salesman, and if you go work for a company, they’re going to use you as a salesman. If you’re going to be a salesman, you might as well be selling something worthwhile, like education”

-Randy Pausch, The Last Lecture

While teaching, I’ve never forgotten this quote. Every teacher knows that we are a bit of every vocation. We quote ourselves as security officers, nurses, nannies, cleaners, administrators, counsellor, events planner and so on, but I rarely hear us describing ourselves as a salesperson.

The truth is, we are. Every single day. We are sell concepts, knowledge and values for a living. Sometimes we even sell non-critical ‘ideals’ to make our lives a little easier because we know we deserve it. For instance, we convince our students that neat handwriting is essential for succeeding in life, although who really writes neatly when they grow up – we start typing.

I think being able to package the product well is very essential as a salesperson. A product has to sell itself. It’s got to first capture the attention of the target audience.

original-horz

Right?

Fonts
I get a lot of my fonts from this site, they are free to download and use. The only thing to note is that you’ll have to pick fonts according to its purpose. Fonts for titles can be slightly fancier and decorated while those for the main text should be easy to read, well spaced and clear.

There are 2 fonts I feel are especially useful for kindergarten and lower primary teachers.

example

This is good for showing the standard sizes of capital and small letters.

practice

This is good for handwriting practice. You can practically type anything, including the words in their spelling lists, or their homework for the day. Get them to trace it, especially those who can’t copy well from the board.

Colours
I was told, during one of the courses I attended, that as a general guide, words of the main text in a presentation slide should not all be in black. Although black contrasts best with against a white background, it should be used in titles or subtitles only. Main texts should be in earthy colours. Don’t ask me, I can’t remember why, but it works.

Pictures
As a primary school teacher, cute and cartoony pictures seem to be my best bet for capturing the attention of my students. I get mine here and they are free to use. Otherwise, I google for cartoon characters. A tip would be to add the words ‘transparent background‘ to your search to get pictures free of the white background.

bkgrd.JPG

GIFs
I’m not advocating the use of multiple GIFs here. But when you get one inserted into the right slide, it recaptures the attention of the lost and long-gone. Giphy is a great place to search. But you’ll have to filter the appropriate ones from the rest.

Memes
Like them or not, they’re everywhere. So I choose to use them to my advantage. I try not to overuse them because I find that they work best when I really need to make something super memorable for the kids. I make mine on this website.

yawn-stretch

Well, I’m done. I hope these are some useful repackaging tools that will help you dress up your presentation. Go sell some education!

signoff

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

